Prosthetics

Revolutionizing Prosthetics Partners

The Revolutionizing Prosthetics team brings together the most respected scientific researchers in their fields, as well as commercial leaders from the prosthetics industry. Often referred to as the “Manhattan Project” for prosthetics, the project is shaped by a multidisciplinary team that includes experts in signal processing and pattern recognition, electrodes for brain implants, mechatronics, neuroscience, electrical engineering, cognitive science, signal processing, battery design, nanotechnology, and even behavioral science.

The Team The Team

Revolutionizing Prosthetics Staff

The Revolutionizing Prosthetics program has been privileged to be associated with many partners since its inception. Below is a listing of current, previous, and advisory partners.

Many current partners have been associated with Revolutionizing Prosthetics since the inception of the program.

Blackrock Microsystems LLC
Florian Solzbacher, Ph.D.
President and Chairman
E-mail: info@blackrockmicro.com
Website: http://www.blackrockmicro.com/

California Institute of Technology
Richard A. Andersen, Ph.D.
James G. Boswell Professor of Neuroscience
E-mail: andersen@vis.caltech.edu
Website: http://www.vis.caltech.edu/

Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
Erik Jung, Dipl.-Phys.
Project Coordinator
E-mail: erik.jung@izm.fraunhofer.de
Website: http://www.fraunhofer.de/en/.html

HDT Robotics (formerly New World Associates)
Thomas Van Doren, Ph.D.
Chief Operating Officer
E-mail: robotics@hdtglobal.com
Website: http://www.hdtglobal.com/services/robotics/

Intan Technologies, LLC
Reid Harrison, Ph.D.
President and Co-Founder
E-mail: info@intantech.com
Website: http://www.hdtglobal.com/services/robotics/

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Nitish V. Thakor, Ph.D.
Director, Laboratory for Neuroengineering
E-mail: nitish@jhu.edu
Websites: https://www.bme.jhu.edu/faculty_staff/nitish-v-thakor-phd/, http://www.youtube.com/user/thakorlab

Kinea Design, LLC (an HDT subsidiary)
Julio J. Santos-Munné
Chief of Operations
E-mail: jsantos@kineadesign.com

Northwestern University
Lee E. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor, Physiology/Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
E-mail: lm@northwestern.edu
Website: https://www.physio.northwestern.edu/faculty/profile.html?xid=14942

University of Chicago
Sliman J. Bensmaia, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
E-mail: sliman@uchicago.edu
Website: http://bensmaialab.uchicago.edu/

University of Utah
Florian Solzbacher, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director, Utah Nanofabrication Laboratory
E-mail: florian.solzbacher@utah.edu
Website: https://www.nanofab.utah.edu/


Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
Website: https://tricare.mil/mtf/Walterreed
Video: Director of Walter Reed Amputee Program speaks at WPI

Past partners played key roles in research and development leading to the current system.

Arizona State University
Jiping He, Ph.D.
Professor, School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering
E-mail: jiping.he@asu.edu
Website: https://webapp4.asu.edu/directory/person/49553

BioSTAR, Inc.
William P. Wiesmann, M.D.
President and CEO
E-mail: ww@biostargroup.com
Website: http://www.biostargroup.com/management.html

Cielo Solutions
Roger Beseke
E-mail: roger@cielosolutions.net

Duke University
Jon Kuniholm, Ph.D. candidate
Founder, The Open Prosthetics Project
E-mail: http://openprosthetics.org/about/6/contact-us
Website: http://openprosthetics.org/

FlexSys Inc.
Sridhar Kota, Ph.D.
E-mail: kota@engin.umich.edu
Website: http://www.flxsys.com/

Harvey Mudd College
Ziyad Durón, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Engineering
E-mail: Ziyad_Duron@hmc.edu
Website: http://www.hmc.edu/

Illinois Institute of Technology
Philip R. Troyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director, Laboratory of Neuroprosthetic Research
E-mail: troyk@iit.edu
Website: https://engineering.iit.edu/faculty/philip-troyk

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Susan J. Bartlett, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
E-mail: Bartlett@jhmi.edu
Website: http://www.jhsph.edu/mindbodyresearch/faculty/susanbartlett.html

Ellen MacKenzie, Ph.D.
Chair, Fred and Julie Soper Professor in Health Policy and Management
E-mail: emackenz@jhsph.edu
Website: http://www.jhsph.edu/faculty/directory/profile/1521/MacKenzie/Ellen

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Ross E. Andersen, Ph.D. (currently with McGill University)
Associate Professor of Medicine
E-mail: ross.andersen@mcgill.ca
Website: https://www.mcgill.ca/edu-kpe/ross.andersen

Steven Hsiao, Ph.D.
Professor of Neuroscience, Zanvyl Krieger Mind/Brain Institute

Xiaofeng Jia, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Research Professor
E-mail: xjia1@jhmi.edu
Website: https://www.bme.jhu.edu/faculty_staff/xiaofeng-jia-md-phd/

The Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering
Ralph Etienne-Cummings, Ph.D.
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
E-mail: retienne@jhu.edu
Website: https://engineering.jhu.edu/ece/faculty/etienne-cummings-ralph/

Allison Okamura, Ph.D. (currently with Stanford University)
Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
E-mail: aokamura@stanford.edu
Websites: https://lcsr.jhu.edu/, https://charm.stanford.edu/Main/AllisonOkamura/

Martin Bionics (acquired by Orthocare Innovations)
Jay Martin, CP, LP, FAAOP
Founder and President
E-mail: jjaymartin@me.com
Website: http://www.martinbionics.com/

McGill University
Ross Andersen, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
E-mail: ross.andersen@mcgill.ca
Website: https://www.mcgill.ca/edu-kpe/ross.andersen

McQ Inc.
Barry M. Jones
Vice President
E-mail: bjones@mcqinc.com
Website: http://www.mcqinc.com/

MicroProbes for Life Science
Martin Bak
Chief Executive Officer
Head of Research and Development
E-mail: mprobe1@aol.com
Website: http://www.microprobes.com/

Microprocessor Designs
Jeff Finkelstein
President
E-mail: jfink@updesigns.com
Website: https://www.updesigns.com/

National Institute of Aerospace
Cheol Park, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
E-mail: c.park@larc.nasa.gov
Website: https://www.nianet.org/

National Rehabilitation Hospital
Joseph Bleiberg, Ph.D. (currently with National Intrepid Center of Excellence)
Neuropsychologist
Director, Center for Cognitive Neuroscience
E-mail: joseph.bleiberg@bethesdaneuropsychology.com
Website: https://tricare.mil/mtf/WalterReed/Health-Services/M_S/NICoE

Northwestern University
J. Edward Colgate, Ph.D.
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
E-mail: colgate@northwestern.edu

Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Art Clemons
Energy Materials Program
E-mail: clemonsa@ornl.gov
Website: http://www.ornl.gov/

Orthocare Innovations, LLC
David Boone, C.P., M.P.H., Ph.D.
Chief Technology Officer
Co-Founder
E-mail: dboone@orthocareinnovations.com
Website: http://www.orthocareinnovations.com/

Otto Bock HealthCare Products GmbH
Hans Dietl, Ph.D.
Chief Technology Officer
E-mail: Hans.Dietl@ottobock.com
Website: http://www.ottobock.com/

Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago
Todd Kuiken, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Center for Bionic Medicine
E-mail: tkuiken@northwestern.edu

Richard F. ff. Weir, Ph.D. (currently with University of Colorado Denver)
Director, Biomechatronics Development Laboratory
E-mail: Richard.Weir@ucdenver.edu

Ripple, LLC
K. Shane Guillory, Ph.D.
Director of Research and Development
E-mail: shane@rppl.com
Website: https://rippleneuro.com/

Rutgers University
Dan Lewitus, Ph.D.
E-mail: lewitus@eden.rutgers.edu
Website: http://www.njbiomaterials.org/web/index.php?p=resbio&s=87419

Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna
Paolo Dario, Dr. Eng.
Founder, Advanced Robotics Technologies and Systems (ARTS) Laboratory
Director, Center for Research in Microengineering (CRIM) Laboratory
E-mail: dario@sssup.it
Website: https://www.santannapisa.it/en/institute/biorobotics/artificial-hands-area

Sigenics
Douglas A. Kerns, Ph.D.
Engineering Director
E-mail: kerns@sigenics.com
Website: https://www.sigenics.com/

Stanford University
Krishna V. Shenoy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
Principal Investigator NPSL
E-mail: Shenoy_prosthetics@stanford.edu
Website: https://shenoy.people.stanford.edu/overview

Syntronics
Brian Tacke
President, Instrumentation Division
E-mail: btacke@syntronics.net
Website: http://www.syntronics.net/

Umeå University
Roland S. Johansson, Ph.D., M.D.
Vice Chairman, Department of Integrative Medical Biology
Professor of Physiology
E-mail: Roland.S.Johansson@physiol.umu.se
Website: http://www.imb.umu.se/english

University of California, Irvine
William C. Tang, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research, Henry Samueli School of Engineering
E-mail: wctang@uci.edu
Website: http://wctgroup.eng.uci.edu/

University of Michigan
Sridhar Kota, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Compliant Systems Design Laboratory
E-mail: kota@engin.umich.edu
Website: http://csdl.engin.umich.edu/

University of New Brunswick
Kevin Englehart, Ph.D., P.Eng.
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Associate Director, Institute of Biomedical Engineering
E-mail: kengleha@unb.ca
Website: http://www.ee.unb.ca/kengleha/

University of Pittsburgh
Michael L. Boninger, M.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
E-mail: boninger@pitt.edu
Website: http://www.rehabmedicine.pitt.edu/

Andrew B. Schwartz, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Neurobiology
E-mail: abs21@pitt.edu
Website: http://schwartzlab.neurobio.pitt.edu/

University of Rochester Medical Center
Marc H. Schieber, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Neurology (Cognitive Behavioral Neurology), Neurobiology and Anatomy, and Brain/Cognitive Sciences
E-mail: mhs@cvs.rochester.edu
Website: http://www.urmc.rochester.edu/labs/Schieber-Lab/

University of Southern California
Gerald E. Loeb, M.D.
Director, Medical Device Development Facility
E-mail: gloeb@usc.edu
Website: https://mddf.usc.edu/

University of Utah
Gregory A. Clark, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
E-mail: Greg.Clark@utah.edu
Website: http://www.bioen.utah.edu/research/research_initiatives.php?op=show&id=1

Vanderbilt University
Michael Goldfarb, Ph.D.
H. Fort Flowers Professor of Mechanical Engineering
E-mail: michael.goldfarb@vanderbilt.edu
Website: http://research.vuse.vanderbilt.edu/cim/

Van Doren Designs
Matthew J. Van Doren, Ph.D., PE
Principal
E-mail: info@vandorendesigns.com
Website: https://www.vandorendesigns.com/