Partners

The Revolutionizing Prosthetics team brings together the most respected scientific researchers in their fields, as well as commercial leaders from the prosthetics industry. Often referred to as the "Manhattan Project" for prosthetics, the project is shaped by a multidisciplinary team that includes experts in signal processing and pattern recognition, electrodes for brain implants, mechatronics, neuroscience, electrical engineering, cognitive science, signal processing, battery design, nanotechnology, and even behavioral science.

The Team

Revolutionizing Prosthetics Staff


The Revolutionizing Prosthetics program has been privileged to be associated with many partners since its inception. Below is a listing of current, previous, and advisory partners.

[+] Expand All

Current

Many current partners have been associated with Revolutionizing Prosthetics since the inception of the program.

Blackrock Microsystems LLC

Florian Solzbacher, Ph.D.
President and Chairman
E-mail: info@blackrockmicro.com
Website: http://www.blackrockmicro.com/

California Institute of Technology

Richard A. Andersen, Ph.D.
James G. Boswell Professor of Neuroscience
E-mail: andersen@vis.caltech.edu
Website: http://www.vis.caltech.edu/

Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Erik Jung, Dipl.-Phys.
Project Coordinator
E-mail: erik.jung@izm.fraunhofer.de
Website: http://www.fraunhofer.de/en/.html

HDT Robotics (formerly New World Associates)

Thomas Van Doren, Ph.D.
Chief Operating Officer
E-mail: robotics@hdtglobal.com
Website: http://www.hdtglobal.com/services/robotics/

Intan Technologies, LLC

Reid Harrison, Ph.D.
President and Co-Founder
E-mail: info@intantech.com
Website: http://www.hdtglobal.com/services/robotics/

Kinea Design, LLC (an HDT subsidiary)

Julio J. Santos-Munné
Chief of Operations
E-mail: jsantos@kineadesign.com
Website: http://www.kineadesign.com

Northwestern University

Lee E. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor, Physiology/Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
E-mail: lm@northwestern.edu
Website: http://www.physiology.northwestern.edu/secondlevel/miller/hp.html

University of Chicago

Sliman J. Bensmaia, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator
E-mail: sliman@uchicago.edu
Website: http://bensmaialab.uchicago.edu/

University of Pittsburgh

Michael L. Boninger, M.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
E-mail: boninger@pitt.edu
Website: http://www.rehabmedicine.pitt.edu/

Andrew B. Schwartz, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Neurobiology
E-mail: abs21@pitt.edu
Website: http://schwartzlab.neurobio.pitt.edu/

University of Utah

Florian Solzbacher, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director, Utah Nanofabrication Laboratory
E-mail: florian.solzbacher@utah.edu
Website: http://www.microsystems.utah.edu/inip

Past

Past partners played key roles in research and development leading to the current system.

Arizona State University

Jiping He, Ph.D.
Professor, School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering
E-mail: jiping.he@asu.edu
Website: https://webapp4.asu.edu/directory/person/49553

BioSTAR, Inc.

William P. Wiesmann, M.D.
President and CEO
E-mail: ww@biostargroup.com
Website: http://www.biostargroup.com/management.html

Cielo Solutions

Roger Beseke
E-mail: roger@cielosolutions.net

Duke University

Jon Kuniholm, Ph.D. candidate
Founder, The Open Prosthetics Project
E-mail: http://openprosthetics.org/about/6/contact-us
Website: http://openprosthetics.org/

FlexSys Inc.

Sridhar Kota, Ph.D.
E-mail: kota@engin.umich.edu
Website: http://www.flxsys.com/

Harvey Mudd College

Ziyad Durón, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Engineering
E-mail: Ziyad_Duron@hmc.edu
Website: http://www.hmc.edu/

Illinois Institute of Technology

Philip R. Troyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director, Laboratory of Neuroprosthetic Research
E-mail: troyk@iit.edu
Website: http://www.iit.edu/engineering/bme/faculty/troyk_philip.shtml

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Susan J. Bartlett, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
E-mail: Bartlett@jhmi.edu
Website: http://www.jhsph.edu/mindbodyresearch/faculty/susanbartlett.html

Ellen MacKenzie, Ph.D.
Chair, Fred and Julie Soper Professor in Health Policy and Management
E-mail: emackenz@jhsph.edu
Website: http://www.jhsph.edu/faculty/directory/profile/1521/MacKenzie/Ellen

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Ross E. Andersen, Ph.D. (currently with McGill University)
Associate Professor of Medicine
E-mail: ross.andersen@mcgill.ca
Website: http://people.mcgill.ca/ross.andersen/

Steven Hsiao, Ph.D.
Professor of Neuroscience, Zanvyl Krieger Mind/Brain Institute
E-mail: Steven.Hsiao@jhu.edu
Website: http://neuroscience.jhu.edu/StevenHsiao.php

Xiaofeng Jia, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Research Professor
E-mail: xjia1@jhmi.edu
Website: http://www.bme.jhu.edu/people/primary.php?id=1043

Nitish V. Thakor, Ph.D.
Director, Laboratory for Neuroengineering
E-mail: nitish@jhu.edu
Websites: http://web1.johnshopkins.edu/nthakor/, http://www.youtube.com/user/thakorlab

The Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering

Ralph Etienne-Cummings, Ph.D.
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
E-mail: retienne@jhu.edu
Website: http://etienne.ece.jhu.edu/information/info-neuroprosthesis.html

Allison Okamura, Ph.D. (currently with Stanford University)
Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
E-mail: aokamura@stanford.edu
Websites: https://haptics2.lcsr.jhu.edu/Research/Prosthetics, http://charm.stanford.edu/Main/HomePage

Martin Bionics (acquired by Orthocare Innovations)

Jay Martin, CP, LP, FAAOP
Founder and President
E-mail: jjaymartin@me.com
Website: http://www.martinbionics.com/

McGill University

Ross Andersen, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
E-mail: ross.andersen@mcgill.ca
Website: http://people.mcgill.ca/ross.andersen/

McQ Inc.

Barry M. Jones
Vice President
E-mail: bjones@mcqinc.com
Website: http://www.mcqinc.com/

MicroProbes for Life Science

Martin Bak
Chief Executive Officer
Head of Research and Development
E-mail: mprobe1@aol.com
Website: http://www.microprobes.com/

Microprocessor Designs

Jeff Finkelstein
President
E-mail: jfink@updesigns.com
Website: http://www.updesigns.com/index.htm

National Institute of Aerospace

Cheol Park, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
E-mail: c.park@larc.nasa.gov
Website: http://ns1.nianet.org/researchstaff/park.php

National Rehabilitation Hospital

Joseph Bleiberg, Ph.D. (currently with National Intrepid Center of Excellence)
Neuropsychologist
Director, Center for Cognitive Neuroscience
E-mail: joseph.bleiberg@bethesdaneuropsychology.com
Website: http://www.dcoe.health.mil/ComponentCenters/NICoE.aspx

Northwestern University

J. Edward Colgate, Ph.D.
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
E-mail: colgate@northwestern.edu
Website: http://lims.mech.northwestern.edu/index.html

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Art Clemons
Energy Materials Program
E-mail: clemonsa@ornl.gov
Website: http://www.ornl.gov/

Orthocare Innovations, LLC

David Boone, C.P., M.P.H., Ph.D.
Chief Technology Officer
Co-Founder
E-mail: dboone@orthocareinnovations.com
Website: http://www.orthocareinnovations.com/

Otto Bock HealthCare Products GmbH

Hans Dietl, Ph.D.
Chief Technology Officer
E-mail: Hans.Dietl@ottobock.com
Website: http://www.ottobock.com/

Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago

Todd Kuiken, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Center for Bionic Medicine
E-mail: tkuiken@northwestern.edu
Website: http://www.ric.org/research/centers/cbm/index.aspx

Richard F. ff. Weir, Ph.D. (currently with University of Colorado Denver)
Director, Biomechatronics Development Laboratory
E-mail: Richard.Weir@ucdenver.edu
Website: http://smpp.northwestern.edu/research/biomechatronics/news.html

Ripple, LLC

K. Shane Guillory, Ph.D.
Director of Research and Development
E-mail: shane@rppl.com
Website: https://www.rppl.com/

Rutgers University

Dan Lewitus, Ph.D.
E-mail: lewitus@eden.rutgers.edu
Website: http://www.njbiomaterials.org/web/index.php?p=resbio&s=87419

Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna

Paolo Dario, Dr. Eng.
Founder, Advanced Robotics Technologies and Systems (ARTS) Laboratory
Director, Center for Research in Microengineering (CRIM) Laboratory
E-mail: dario@sssup.it
Website: http://www-arts.sssup.it/tiki/tiki-index.php?page=hand+prostheses

Sigenics

Douglas A. Kerns, Ph.D.
Engineering Director
E-mail: kerns@sigenics.com
Website: http://www.sigenics.com/management-team/

Stanford University

Krishna V. Shenoy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering
Principal Investigator NPSL
E-mail: Shenoy_prosthetics@stanford.edu
Website: http://www.stanford.edu/~shenoy/Group.htm

Syntronics

Brian Tacke
President, Instrumentation Division
E-mail: btacke@syntronics.net
Website: http://www.syntronics.net/

Umeå University

Roland S. Johansson, Ph.D., M.D.
Vice Chairman, Department of Integrative Medical Biology
Professor of Physiology
E-mail: Roland.S.Johansson@physiol.umu.se
Website: http://www.imb.umu.se/english

University of California, Irvine

William C. Tang, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research, Henry Samueli School of Engineering
E-mail: wctang@uci.edu
Website: http://wctgroup.eng.uci.edu/Home/index.php

University of Michigan

Sridhar Kota, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Compliant Systems Design Laboratory
E-mail: kota@engin.umich.edu
Website: http://www.engin.umich.edu/labs/csdl/index.htm

University of New Brunswick

Kevin Englehart, Ph.D., P.Eng.
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Associate Director, Institute of Biomedical Engineering
E-mail: kengleha@unb.ca
Website: http://www.ee.unb.ca/kengleha/

University of Rochester Medical Center

Marc H. Schieber, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Neurology (Cognitive Behavioral Neurology), Neurobiology and Anatomy, and Brain/Cognitive Sciences
E-mail: mhs@cvs.rochester.edu
Website: http://www.urmc.rochester.edu/labs/Schieber-Lab/

University of Southern California

Gerald E. Loeb, M.D.
Director, Medical Device Development Facility
E-mail: gloeb@usc.edu
Website: http://bme.usc.edu/research/mddf/

University of Utah

Gregory A. Clark, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
E-mail: Greg.Clark@utah.edu
Website: http://www.bioen.utah.edu/research/research_initiatives.php?op=show&id=1

Vanderbilt University

Michael Goldfarb, Ph.D.
H. Fort Flowers Professor of Mechanical Engineering
E-mail: michael.goldfarb@vanderbilt.edu
Website: http://research.vuse.vanderbilt.edu/cim/

Van Doren Designs

Matthew J. Van Doren, Ph.D., PE
Principal
E-mail: info@vandorendesigns.com
Website: http://vandorendesigns.com/aboutus.html

Advisory